LUSH Review!

I’ve heard some great things about LUSH so when I came across this store, I stopped by to check out what they have.  If you’ve never heard of LUSH, they are a company that prides themselves on creating and selling fresh, handmade products with little to no preservative and they support humanitarian, environmental and animal rights causes.  Their items range from shower gels, face masks, hair products and makeup among other little knick knacks. After glancing at their products, I decided on a face mask and shower gel.

The Sacred Truth Fresh Faced Mask

LUSH 1

LUSH describes this mask as being for dry or mature skin but I definitely think combination/oily skin would benefit from this a bit more. The reason? It’s made with kaolin clay which helps remove sebum and removes impurities from the skin- not too ideal if you have dry to very dry skin.  Among other ingredients, this mask also has honey ( a great humectant and antibacterial ingredient), shea butter, green tea, yogurt and fresh papaya juice, whose enzymes provide an exfoliating effect.  After using this mask, my face did seem a bit brighter and smoother and my T-zone was less oily.

LUSH 2

 

Pros

$6.95 for 2.1 oz

The bottom of the jar lists the date it was made, the person who made it and the date you should discard it

LUSH 3

Handmade and fresh

Enzymes provide a gentler exfoliation effect

Nice cooling effect (especially for hot, summer days and nights!)

Cons

Because it is fresh, it needs to be stored in the fridge

Only sold in stores because it needs to be kept in the fridge

The smell- you either love it or hate it.  Not the best smell in my opinion but tolerable

You get a good amount of product for the price but because it doesn’t have preservatives, it needs to be tossed out sooner than most products.   Use it as a body treatment (i.e. your back and décolleté) so you don’t waste the product.

Can enhance your complexion but don’t expect major changes

It’s Raining Men Shower Gel

LUSH 4

lushusa.com

 

 

Absolutely LOVE this shower gel!  My skin is pretty sensitive to shower gels and I usually stick to Aveeno Baby Soothing Relief Creamy Wash since it’s the only body wash that doesn’t irritate me or cause my skin to itch.  So, needless to say I am very wary of trying anything new but I gave this a try and gladly so.  It smells amazing-think honey, citrus and bergamot- and leaves skin super soft.  I find the scent to be very soothing and the best part is no adverse reactions on me as of yet.

Pros

Moisturizes your skin and leaves skin soft even if I forget to moisturize

Leaves behind a faint scent that is not overwhelming

A little bit of product goes a long way

The bottle states when it was made and when to discard

Several sizes available

Cons

There is added fragrance so if you’re sensitive or allergic, tread with caution

Main ingredient is honey so if you’re allergic to it or to bees, steer clear

 

Price- it’s a bit more pricier than most body washes found in drugstores- $9.95, 3.3 oz; $$18.95, 8.4 oz; $28.95, 16.9 oz

Bottom Line- I think they have some great products to try but I was disappointed a lot of the products meant for the face have ground almonds in them.  Ground nuts and fruits can be too abrasive for the delicate skin on your face and cause microscopic tears-save this knees, elbows and feet.  Also, as I stated before, these can enhance your complexion but if you’re wanting professional results, this wouldn’t be the best line.   

Have you tried LUSH products? What do you think about them? 

 

Leave a comment