My Current Products for Curly Hair!

Hair Products

 

Hi readers!  How was your weekend?  Mine was spent celebrating one of my sister’s birthday and shopping for Christmas gifts. 🙂

Today’s post is on hair care, especially those with curls.  Awhile back, my hair was a dry, frizzy mess.  Nothing I used seemed to work anymore and I found that the only way for my hair to look good was to throw it up in a bun.  Don’t get me wrong, a bun style is great but when it becomes your only option, it’s both frustrating and boring.  So, I decided to seek some help and visited my local beauty supply store.  The lady there was super helpful and knowledgeable, and after assessing my hair, she gave me her recommendations on products. Now. I am not an expert on hair nor am I claiming to be one however, I thought I’d share what I’ve been using.

Shampoo

Since curly hair is dry by nature, using a shampoo that is sulfate-free or low suds is the way to go.  Mastey Paris Traite Shampoo Sulfate-Free Moisturizing Creme Hair Cleanser (For Normal to Dry Hair) smells like coconut, cleanses without stripping your hair and protects color treated hair.

Also, since I recently colored my hair red, I use Tressa Watercolors Color Maintenance Shampoo in Fluid Fire.  I use it about once a week as it’s a gentle, tinted shampoo that helps enrich my red hue.

 

Shampoo

Conditioner

For conditioner, I use Macadamia Nut Oil Deep Repair Masque in the shower and Enjoy Leave-In Conditioner when I am combing my hair.

Conditioner

Styling Products 

After detangling my hair and applying a leave-in condtioner, I use ColorProof TruCurl Curl Perfecting Creme.  This really helps define my curls.  Also, sometimes I use a very small amount of Herbal Essences Body Envy Volumizing Mousse.  I know many have told me that this mousse isn’t ideal, but this is the only one that works for me so far.

Normally, I just use the above mentioned products and let air dry.  Every now and then though, I use a curling wand to create looser curls.  For this, I am really loving Oribe Apres Beach Wave and Shine Spray.  I purchased the travel sized version as Oribe’s products can be pricey, but I must say this product is well worth it.

Styling Products

Here is an older picture of my finished look.  You can find other pictures of me and my hair on other posts/Instagram.

Curl Look

 

Taking care of curly hair requires a little extra effort but when you use the right products and understand its needs, it’s well worth it. 🙂

What hair products work for you? Let me know in the comments below!

Happy Tuesday,

Stephanie 

11 thoughts on “My Current Products for Curly Hair!

  1. My hair can go either way lol. Straightish or curly. When I want to be lazy and wear it curly, after I get out of the shower I just scrunch it and spray on some Marc Anthony Dream Waves Beach Spray. I love the smell of it and it gives me soft waves/curls. Then I just let it air-dry, much better for my hair. I occasionally flat iron it but that’s once in a while. I also love Miss Jessie’s Pillow Soft Curls cream. 🙂 xo

    • Lucky! I’ll admit having curly hair has it’s perks but somehow I still love to straighten it. I’ll have to try Marc Anthony Dream Waves Beach Spray and compare it to Oribe. I highly recommend trying that one if you use the curling iron. I save it for weekends/special occasions because it’s a bit pricey. Thanks for the info! 🙂

  2. Love your hair! I have wavy/straight hair and would love curls! We always want what we can’t have, but I enjoyed reading anyway and also own an Oribe product and love it! xoxox Janet

  3. Pingback: Oribe Gold Lust Collection Review! | Stephie Estie

  4. Pingback: Hair Haul! | Stephie Estie

Leave a comment