May Favorites!

May Faves

Hi everyone!  Just thought to pop in and write a quick post on a few makeup items I really enjoyed in May so let’s get right to it. 🙂

Rimmel Lasting Finish 25H Foundation in 100 Ivory

Confession: I have never owned a drugstore foundation before.  When I started wearing makeup, my go to products were tinted moisturizers from brands like MAC and Merle Norman.  I could never find a good match and often felt frustrated which resulted in me seeking products from stores where I could actually be color matched.  With all the buzz surrounding this product and in need of a new foundation, my trip to Target ended with this in my cart in the shade 100 Ivory which is a near perfect match.  I am very impressed with this foundation.  It’s a full coverage foundation that feels very lightweight, lasts all day and doesn’t look cakey as it has a satin finish.  The only drawback with this one is that it does make me breakout a little and cause a few blackheads but using a primer underneath helps a bit- for this reason this is reserved for special occasions or weekends.

Nars Audacious Lipstick in Jane 

I’m late on jumping on the Nars Audacious bandwagon but better late than never, right? Seeing the countless pictures on Instagram about these lipsticks prompted me to buy one during Sephora’s VIB sale.  After swatching a few recommended shades, I settled on Jane- a terracotta rose- as it was a shade I found to be unique and unlike anything I own.  Aside from the color, I love how pigmented this is.  One swipe and your lips are saturated with color meaning this will last you a long time.  The finish is matte so I prefer to add a bit of lipgloss to add some moisture.

Below is a picture of me wearing the Rimmel foundation and the Nars Jane.

May Faves 2

Colour Pop Super Shock Cheek Highlighters (Pearlized)

After loving the blushes from Colour Pop, I was thrilled when they launched their highlighters and immediately purchased three shades: Highly Waisted, Most Necessary and Teasecake.   Highly Waisted is described as a “soft golden peach with pink and gold duo chrome finishes”; Most Necessary is described as, “soft copper with rosy gold highlights”; and Teasecake is described as “pale pink with a gold and pink duo chrome finish”.  The formula on these is creamy but they don’t have that mousse like texture as the blushes and these also rub off rather easy. Highly Waisted and Most Necessary have noticeable glitter chunks but once you apply them, they disappear or aren’t visible.  I love the overall effect of these since they give you a nice glow and they have a great selection of shades to choose from, so regardless of your skin tone, you’re bound to find a shade you like.

The swatches below are as follows: Highly Waisted, Most Necessary and Teasecake.

CP Highlight

 

Have you tired any of these products?  What are your thoughts?

Stephanie  

30 thoughts on “May Favorites!

  1. I love that foundation. It doesn’t break me out though. Weird. I got a couple of those ColourPop highlighters on my wishlist. I might be placing an order this weekend.

  2. Placed an order with Colour Pop last week and Highly Waisted was the highlighter that I chose! So happy I went with that one because your swatch is gorgeous! Cannot wait until everything arrives!

  3. I keep hearing such great things about that foundation! That is one of the foundations that I want to try out next. I love that lipstick color on you too! It looks gorgeous and those highlighters are so pretty! 🙂 xo

    • Really impressed with this one! Great foundation and the price is great too. Thank you. The lipsticks and highlighters are a must try if you ever get a chance. By the way, the Teasecake highlighter alongside Trickery is amazing! 🙂

    • MAC Mineralized Skin Finish and Hourglass powders are dry powders that provide a glow but are still a dry formula. CP ones are creamy similar to cream blushes and don’t run the risk of looking cakey. They don’t feel heavy either. 🙂

Leave a comment