July Birchbox Unboxing!

Birchbox July

Hi everyone!  Hope your weekend was great.  🙂  Today’s post will be a quick run through of  July’s Birchbox with my first impressions so let’s get to it!

Juara Radiance Enzyme Scrub

This milky white scrub utilizes bamboo, tiny  jojoba beads and apple enzymes to exfoliate.  Compared to the Suki Exfoliate Foaming Cleanser, this feels more gentle and hydrating.  According to the instructions, this can be used as a mask and left on for 1-3 minutes.  So far I like it.  Haven’t noticed any dramatic effects but it leaves skin smoother. *Note: this has cinnamon, clove and ginger extract so it may be a bit stimulating for sensitive skin.  Always conduct a patch test.

Oribe Apres Beach Wave and Shine Spray 

If you’ve followed my blog for awhile, you’ll know I really love this spray and I was excited this was featured in July’s box.  It’s a smaller sample than the purse size option but is enough to give you a feel for the product.  I love using this product when I use a curling wand to curl my hair as it sets the style, adds texture without a sticky or stiff feel and smells ah-mazing.

Supergoop! Anti-Aging City Sunscreen Serum SPF 30 

Love that a sunscreen was included in this box as it’s essential for skin health.  Like the name implies, this feels like a serum which is so light-weight and absorbs quickly into the skin.  It’s a chemical based sunscreen which you can read about here. Definitely an easy sunscreen to work with underneath makeup as it doesn’t pill.  Best part?  Toss it in your bag to carry with you on the go or if it irritates your skin, try using it as hand sunscreen protection when you’re driving. Yes, our hands and body need protection too!

Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick in Bella 

I call this lipstick my ‘sitting pretty’ lipstick.  You know how you have those high heels that are so beautiful to look at but killer to wear so you use them only when you’re not going to be walking much? Well, the same concept applies to this lipstick.  It is a gorgeous, bright pink color that provides intense (and I mean intense) color in one stroke.  It does stain lips but it tends to move and transfers so if you’re planning on going out to eat while using this or are wearing white, I’d skip this or a least, use caution. Removing it with an oil based makeup remover works best.

theBalm cosmetics Balm Desert Bronzer/Blush 

I was surprised by how tiny this  sample is-a little bigger than my thumb.  You’re still able to pick up enough product with your brush but it takes a bit more effort.  The consistency is creamy and blends nicely but I think this is more bronzer than blush.  You can use this as blush-I love using bronzer as blush- but compared to the Too Faced Pink Leopard Blushing Bronzer, which has a lot more pink undertones, this one is a dusty rose shade that leans more towards tan.  Makes a great pick for summer.

JB Swatches

L-R: Bronzer/Blush and Bella

That’s it for today!

What did you think of this month’s Birchbox? 

Stephanie 

21 thoughts on “July Birchbox Unboxing!

    • I’ve heard great things about Coola and Supergoop is a nice sunscreen. I actually received a Supergoop spray SPF in my PopSugar Must Have box so I’m excited to try that. 🙂

  1. Using bronzer as blush? It sounds odd but the more I look at that color the more I can see it! They sure did jip you on the size though… although I will say this, Birchbox is looking much improved since I was subscribed last year! That spray sounds really neat too.

    • Yes, I know it sounds weird but I like to do that for days where I want the no blush look. My bronzers are not super dark, they define but still look natural. Yes, as Katie said, it looks like an eyeshadow, lol. That’s how small it is. Love the spray and I do like the variety. So far PopSugar Must Have is my first favorite followed by Birchbox. 🙂

  2. Well as you know I have the same box lol. I still have yet to try out everything this week but I hope to very soon. I bet you could even use the blush/bronzer as an eyeshadow too. It is really small! I wish they would have made it a little bit bigger to at least use a brush in it. I’m really looking forward to trying the Oribe spray. 🙂 xo

    • I really liked this box but yes I agree, the bronzer looks more like shadow. Thanks for the idea to use it as shadow, lol. I was expecting it at least maybe the size of the Cargo blush I received two boxes ago. I think you’ll fall in love with the Oribe spray. 🙂

      • Yeah it just reminds me of an eyeshadow really. It’s the same size as the eyeshadow they sent samples out of from Ipsy lol. I will try to work with it and see how it bronzes but it might be challenging lol. I will probably fall in love with Oribe Spray and will then have to buy it lol. 🙂

      • I was looking for a way to describe it but this totally eluded me. That’s why i compared to my thumb which is almost the same size minus the width. I takes a bit of effort with the brush but I don’t think you’ll have too much of a problem. yes, the Oribe spray is so good in my opinion. Well worth the money. 🙂

  3. I picked the same box :0) It’s a great collection, huh? I’m very excited about the Oribe spray. The Stila lipstick is impressive, but a little too dry for me. Your description is perfect. It’s a strange product though bc it’s a long-lasting lipstick… But all of us are hesitant to go the long haul…. Lol
    Hope your week is treating you well.

    • I really enjoyed it and I must confess the Oribe spray sold me. I love that stuff! Yes, the Stila lipstick is highly pigmented and while it does last and takes effort to remove, it does transfer and this shade is less than forgiving. I think that’s the problem. It lasts but it’s not smudge proof. I had the same issue with the Kat Von D Everlasting lipstick and I learned my lesson after eating, lol. Hope your week is going great too! xo

  4. I agree the bronzer sample was too small. I wish it was at least double the size to get a reasonable sized brush in there to be able to use it easier.

Leave a comment